recipes · Uncategorized

Healthy Poppyseed Cake

In my last post, I showed you how to make poppy seed milk at home so that you don´t need to buy the processed plant-based milk in stores. I also asked you not to throw away the pulp left from the milk because it can be used in various recipes.

Poppy seed pulp still contains a lot of nutrients and important oils so it would be a shame wasting it by not using it in another recipe.

poppyseed cake main

There are many recipes that require poppy seed but I have been liking this one recently. The instructions are simple and the preparation of the cake takes only a couple of minutes. The poppy seed cake is not overly sweet and combines nicely with a slightly sour jam.

poppyseed cake 1

I like to take this cake to work with me as a healthy mid-morning snack but I equally like to share it with my family on a Sunday morning as a lazy-day breakfast 🙂 My 18-month-old nephew likes it too and he enjoys it best with a thin layer of a pear&cinnamon jam (that kiddo knows what´s good!)

 

poppyseed cake 2

Ingredients:

250 g whole-grain flour
120 g poppy seeds (either ground or the poppy seed left from poppy seed milk)
1 package baking powder
4 tablespoons brown sugar
350 ml soy milk
a dash of salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. In a larger bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
  3. Pour in the milk and stir well.
  4. Spread a little bit of oil over the surface of a baking form.
  5. Pour the batter in the baking form.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes.
  7. Serve with jam on top.

I like to try several jam flavours in order to find the perfect one for me. The poppy seed cake is amazing even when eaten without anything on top.

poppyseed cake 3

I hope this cake will bring a smile to your face 🙂

Suzie x

 

 

Leave a Reply

