recipes · Uncategorized

Protein-packed Tofu Mushrooms

It hasn´t even been a week since the summer of 2017 officially started and I already feel like I will melt any second. The temperatures climb high and if the Sun hides behind the clouds for a day then you can be sure as hell that sultriness will replace it instead. But I was praying for these days to come back in February when my butt was freezing in the car so who am I to complain 🙂

A lower appetite is undoubtedly one of the benefits of hot weather. People tend to drink liters of water and eat mostly refreshing salads and fresh fruit and no one really craves fatty and heavy meals.

Tofu Mushrooms main

I myself prefer to cook quick meals so that I don´t have to spend too much time above the hot cooker. In summer, there is plenty of fresh produce either from my garden or from the market so sometimes it is hard to pick which healthy recipe we will follow first 🙂

I had portobello mushrooms stuck in my fridge for a couple of days and they looked like they may have not survived another day so I decided to go for them. What I really love about this meal is the very subtle garlicky taste in the tofu paste which is very refreshing and light.

I like this recipe because of how hassle-free and quick it is and I can create an amazing meal just by following a few simple steps. The ingredients are also very easy to get and I am sure that every plant-based eater will find them in the pantry without a problem.

I did not use any oil except for a little splash to caramelize the onion and I spread a bit of oil over the tops of the mushrooms to get them a bit crispy but that can be left out. You can have it with salad and/or fresh veggies as a light dinner or try to add a couple of roasted potatoes for a filling healthy lunch.

Portobello mushrooms are low in calories and a single mushroom contains 2 grams of protein so it is a perfect source of protein for vegans! They are also very rich in copper and selenium which are important for connecting tissues being made and for the production of antioxidants.

Tofu Mushrooms 1

Tofu is also full of protein so it creates a massive protein combo when combined with portobello mushrooms. I don´t think that I need to introduce the benefits of tofu to anyone of you but let´s just remember that it also has a lot of calcium and provides cardiovascular support to a human body (like all whole-food soy products do).

I love to cook this meal on days when I have a challenging running workout because I can come home after the run and have a protein-rich and light meal that will refill my body with all the necessary nutrients.

Ingredients:

6 portobello mushrooms
1 package plain tofu
2 cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon sweet paprika
1 yellow onion
2 tablespoons brown sugar
salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Clean the mushrooms and remove the stems (you can either cut them and add to the tofu stuffing later or throw them away – but I suggest the first option). Put the mushrooms in a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  3. In a small pan, sautée the onion in a splash of oil together with the brown sugar and cook until the onion turns golden brown. Tranfer it to a food processor.
  4. Add the tofu, garlic, paprika, mushroom stems if you kept them, salt, and pepper and blend until you reach a smooth paste.
  5. Divide the stuffing among the mushrooms and don´t be shy J
  6. Spread a little bit of oil over the mushrooms if you want them to get a bit crispy.
  7. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the stuffing gets browned a bit.
  8. Serve with fresh or roasted veggies and/ or roasted potatoes.

 

Maybe you wouldn´t say so but this is such a filling dish thanks to the tofu stuffing!

Tofu Mushrooms 2

If you enjoyed this recipe there is a chance you would also like my FB page where I share loads of healthy plant-based recipes (not only mine) and interesting articles concerning vegan lifestyle 🙂

Have a successful rest of the week!

Suzie x

Leave a Reply

